CIK-FIA Karting Academy
Date6 May 2018
Event TypeCircuit Racing (Karts)
LocationSalbris, France
ContactTel : +33 2 5497 2840
NotesThe Motor Sports Association (MSA) has selected Josh Rattican and William Orton to represent the UK in the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy, an international competition for 11 to 14-year-olds.

Each year the CIK-FIA invites ASNs (National Sporting Authorities) to nominate competitors to represent their countries in the Trophy. This years calendar features three events in France (6 May), Italy (15 July) and Belgium (9 September).

The MSA chose to nominate Rattican (13) and Orton (13) following a selection day at Motor Sports House. Rattican began karting at club level aged eight, achieving numerous titles before progressing to the MSA British Cadet Kart Championship. He graduated to junior karting in 2017, becoming an instant and regular top-ten finisher.

This is a dream opportunity for me, said Rattican. Its a great honour and a privilege to be representing my country in the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy. Im so determined to show what Im capable of and will work very hard to get the most out of this once in a life-time opportunity. Thank you to the MSA for the support and confidence placed in me.

Orton has carved out a successful pre-junior career, with success in bamino and cadet karting. He has signed up for this year`s Super One British Championships and competed in the IAME Winter Cup in Valencia last month. Im delighted to be gifted such an opportunity and I am going to grasp it with both hands," he said.

MSA Academy Manager Greg Symes, who oversaw the selection day, added: We put Josh and William through a review and then an interview process; their results and experience spoke for themselves and they were a joy to meet. We believe that both will do an excellent job in representing the UK both on and just as importantly off the track.

MSA nominations have achieved remarkable successes in the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy since the inaugural season eight years ago, from second place for Ben Barnicoat in 2011 to the title itself for Callum Bradshaw in 2016.