F1 Future Stars
Date8 Jul 2018
Event TypeCircuit Racing (Karts)
LocationSilverstone Circuit
CountryUnited Kingdom
Tel : 01327 857271
NotesChannel 4 F1® and Renault Sport F1 reserve driver Jack Aitken have helped the MSA select ten young British karters as F1 Future Stars for this year’s Formula 1® 2018 Rolex British Grand Prix at Silverstone (8 July).

FIA F1 Future Stars is a new initiative to bring young drivers closer to their grand prix heroes by accompanying them on the grid for the national anthem before each race.

The MSA pre-selected its reigning Bambino Kart Champion, Archie Clark, as the first FIA F1 Future Star. The governing body then invited MSA kart competition licence holders aged seven to ten to record a short video introducing themselves and saying why they wanted to be an FIA F1 Future Star. More than 50 young drivers submitted clips.

Channel 4 F1’s Steve Jones and David Coulthard sat down with MSA Team UK member and F2 racer Aitken during the Spanish Grand Prix weekend to review the videos. They selected the following MSA Bambino and Cadet karters as FIA F1 Future Stars:

Summer Chapman
Callie Clifford
Zain Khan
Monde Jnr Konini
Jason Park
Skye Parker
Leo Robinson
Lucas Ross Cameron
Ronnie Shrimpton.

Coulthard, twice a British Grand Prix winner, said: “All the young karters presented very well in their videos, so whittling them down to just nine was tough. I couldn’t believe how many trophies some of these youngsters had in the background – I didn’t win as many in 30 years of racing! I’m really looking forward to meeting the FIA F1 Future Stars at Silverstone and who knows, a future F1 world champion could be among them.”

Silverstone is running its own initiative to find the remaining 10 FIA F1 Future Stars for this year’s British Grand Prix.

Editor’s notes:
The MSA is the sole national governing body for four-wheel motor sport in the UK, as recognised by the world governing body, the Fédération Internationale de l`Automobile (FIA). The MSA is a not-for-profit organisation (limited by guarantee) comprising around 750 affiliated motor clubs, which are represented by 13 Regional Associations nationwide. The MSA represents approximately 30,000 competition licence holders and nearly 11,000 volunteer marshals and officials, and issues around 5,000 event permits every year.